Finished: “Angle of Repose,” Wallace Stegner (#82)

by mostnovel

I think this was the first book on the list where I truly lost track of where I was in the book because I was so captivated by the story. No book jacket type blurb will do justice to the story, so I’m hesitant to even try to summarize. In fact, I won’t. This was probably my second most favorite on the list so far, and it was the longest book so far. It took me almost a month to get through.

I don’t usually watch TV before bed anymore because I’m reading, but I finished this at 9:30PM last night so I turned the TV on, and coincidentally there was a profile of Wallace Stegner on at 10:30PM on PBS. Very strange coincidence. I was very curious to know more about the author when I finished the book, and I was shocked to see the profile aired right when that was the #1 thing I would have wanted to see on TV at that moment.

All I can say is, this is a masterful story of hope,¬†perseverance, ingenuity, frustration and loss. Stegner’s style could be my favorite so far.

